1:1 ESB Yoda Puppet/ WIP

Chewie15

Sr Member
This is my new ESB Yoda puppet project I've been working on in my personal time, mainly on a few Sunday afternoons here and there ;) Since it is personal project I cannot work on it much, but I got a little further today so I thought I'd show it off so far...

I'm very inspired right now by RPF member Trap Joe's Yoda puppet, so I'm going to attempt an actual puppet with this new sculpture! I have the hands and feet started too... and once I get everything done I will cast it all in silicone and make an actual working puppet ;) And since my goal is to have cable controlled features I sculpted him with his mouth in a neutral, slightly open position.

Constructive criticism is welcome since this still has a ways to go...

ESB2010_1.jpg

ESB2010_2.jpg

ESB2010_3.jpg

ESB2010_4.jpg

H

www.howardsstudios.com

Looking good Howard! I have some experience building and operating puppets. All I can say is, try to keep imagining where the operator's arm, hand and wrist will be. Judging by the profile, I'd say it's on target. The chin is "jutted" forward enough from the rear base of the neck to allow for a relaxed arm/wrist posture. (I hope this is making sense)
I once thought about reworking an animatronic yoda, I worked on, into a hand puppet. I realized, unfortunatly, that it would involve a resculpt. The pathway up the neck to the mouth was too much of a right angle to accommodate a human hand. Maybe one day...
I'm really looking forward to seeing where you take this. Thanks for sharing.

When you finished with your mold do you have plans of offering others for sale and how much would it run? I would love to put a Yoda together!