Interest Aluminum collapsible batarangs based on Arkham game series

godproject

I am a machinist by trade, and pretty damn good with Solid-works and mechanical design if I do say so myself. I have been working on getting my own CNC machine up and running and have recently done so. I showed these off about a year ago and now have the means to make them. I wanted to gauge interest in the community, and see if anyone would be interested. I am also considering doing a run of bases to display the piece. I'm not ready to show the base design yet, as it isn't finalized, but I can show the batarang itself. It is a rendering as I haven't made it yet. I will be making these out of aluminum. I haven't decided on a grade yet. Probably in the 4010 to 5052 range.

This is the unit completely assembled.

complete batarang.JPG

It is made of 8 individual parts. All main parts will be machined aluminum. There are a couple off the shelf parts in a compression spring to hold the body taut when extended and a bolt to hold the parts together. I am asking $80.00 for each.

I will be selling these as two separate kits. One will be an assembled kit of the finished batarang with a guide to its disassembly. The other would be a kit with the batarang and a themed base of my design. I am just gauging interest in the batarang as of now and will show a completed piece soon. I just wanted to post this here to whet the appetite.

Here is a breakdown of all pieces I will be making...

parts view batarang.JPG

parts view iso batarang.JPG

Also, if there is enough interest, I may offer an anodized black version as well. Thanks for checking this out.

It would be an ESTIMATED added $25.00 USD to ship to the UK. That's the quote I got from the US Postal Service. I need you post code for a quote from UPS or FEDEX.

andyp said:
From the pics in the thread, it looks like it has a dark greyish colouring to the aluminium. Is that right or is it bright and silvery?