Iron Man helmet help

rossb3000

Hey everyone. Complete and utter novice here hoping for some help..i'll apologise in advance if this is in the wrong forum or if youve heard the same questions a thousand times.

I just got hold of an Iron Man helmet and its a bit 'scruffy'. I think its cast in resin and has then been spray painted silver.

First of all, as there are small 'chips' in the cast, would i be able to patch these up with something? And there are other parts that need sanding...is this adviseable or is there another way of getting the little 'nobbles' from the surface?

And finally..the paint. I'd like to paint it red/ gold...would i need to use primer first if its already been painted (or if i use something to patch up the aforementioned chips) or could i just paint straight onto it? Is there a specific type of paint thats recommended for these sort of things? I've had a browse around and i've seen mention of both car paint aerosols and modelling paint but im clueless (as im sure is fully clear!)

Apologies if i've been unclear as to what I mean but I hope someone will be able to assist me!

Many, many thanks in advance, Ross.

your in the right forum..:) wrong section should be in props or off topic even so, but anyways these guys rock. car bondo theres rondo can sanded it repainted theres better people on here. let me start you out in there way..

Links to there work:

Surreal Studios

Finhead and Coofunkcurly

just for starters.. good luck:)

Bondo is probably you're best bet. There's also some newer products that you can mold, replicate, and meld with wood and I hear it's pretty good to work with as well.

You'll want to remove the existing paint and get it back down to it's original surface before patching or painting. For most things using Ovencleaner in a bag, let it sit for an hour, then scrub with a stiff brush works wonders. May take a few applications to get it all off.

Wash it off with a mild detergent in warm water.