Quick build - Captain America TWS Stealth Suit COMPLETE!

IronJoe

Back story: I had a great time building costumes for ECCC, but coming off of the great time I had, I was a little bummed about not having anything else to work on. So why not do a TWS Stealth suit for the Cap 2 premiere?

Yeah - the movie comes out tomorrow. This is going to be a rush job! Not movie accurate, but close enough that you'll know what you're looking at :)

I started with a plan: I am going for the "See, it's Chris Evans!" look which uses the stealth suit sans helmet, and the classic shield instead of the "stealth" shield. Here's what I'm talking about:
captain-america-the-winter-soldier-trailer-0.jpg

captain-america-the-winter-soldier.jpg

I started by going to the local thrift shop and picking up a navy blue canvas jacket and slacks. I studied the promotional images of the suit, and noticed the base layer of his suit is a far more "dull" material than the top layer, which is fairly shiny. So I oped for a couple yards of blue vinyl to use as an overlay for the jacket. His boots are black with brown straps, he uses brown fingerless gloves, a brown belt, and brown shoulder straps that support his shield attachment point on his back.

Here's the supply list:
Gloves: Fingerless brown leather gloves, Amazon
Shoulder straps: Airsoft shoulder gun holster, Amazon
  • I plan on modifying this in order to give it the proper "look"
Jacket: Navy blue "uniform" jacket, front zip with collar.
  • I am adding the "design" with vinyl as an overlay that will snap onto the jacket in the front, rear and shoulders.
  • I am planning on adding the star and stripes as a reverse applique in order to give it depth
Pants: Navy blue "uniform" slacks
  • I'm adding patches of vinyl to simulate the depth and complexity the movie suit has
Boots: Gotham 100s with brown straps added
Belt: Brown "tactical" belt, Amazon