Young Justice Nightwing v2.0

sinisterspidey

Hey all, I've read through a lot of posts on here but this is my first time actually making an account and posting myself. So, Some of you guys might've seen my girlfriend and my Nightwing & Batgirl costumes at Megacon if you were there this year (Megacon 2014 - Imgur if you didn't see us there) and I'm looking for some comments/criticism/ideas to make them better for Dragon*Con later this year. My only problem with Batgirl were those floppy glove fins, but I'm getting her some nice gauntlets for that.

My main concern was the Nightwing outfit just not quite looking right to me. Admittedly, it ended up being too big for me, but I still felt like it wouldn't look like the Young Justice look I really wanted even sized right. I've thought about buying a design like this one -
YJ-Nightwing.jpg
which was mentioned on another RPF YJ Nightwing thread, and getting it printed/sewn, but on principle I've always been biased against muscle shaded costumes since it feels like cheating. The shoulderpads were flopping all over the place too, still trying to figure out a better way to secure those other than thread. Any thoughts or ideas on getting closer to Nightwing's YJ look -

young-justice-nightwing-nightwing-young-justice-30785699-900-747.jpg-136791d1358108246

would be appreciated.

Disclaimer - while I did make Batgirl's (fairly functional) utility belt, I'm really not great at making costumes from scratch, so constructing a whole YJ costume on my own isn't feasible haha.

What are your thoughts on muscle shaded costumes looks-wise? Like I said, it feels like cheating, but I can't think of another option aside from a full custom costume. The belt I was thinking of buying something like this SnakeEyesBelt2600.jpg and just coloring the pouches grey, and I've already thought about getting some small knee & elbow pads to wear either over or under the costume.