Need advice for my cardboard sculpture.

Antonis13

Hello all! I started some months ago a cardboard sculpture, through pepakura.
It will be quite big, 2.5 meters tall, 1.5m. long, and 1.4m wide.
The sculpture will be on basically 4 parts. 1 upper and 1 lower body of a man. And 1 upper and 1 lower body of a woman.

When i finish building it, i want to make it stronger. I originally thought to cover the parts with acrylic putty. I tested this in one part and it turned out very heavy and needed LOTS of putty.
The alternative that i thought of, is covering it with resin.

I have never worked with any type of resin before, and i need your help.
First, i can't afford of getting epoxy resin. So i might settle with polyester resin and fiberglass. Will polyester resin with fiberglass do the job? and if so, how strong and light will it be?
Will i need to wrap the sculpture with aluminium tape to protect the cardboard of getting soggy? (To prevent wrapping and anything else).

I probably have a lot more questions, but i can't think of them right now.
What do you believe that is the best route to go?

Thank you!

Are we talking near completion? Or are you still able to put reinforcement inside?

Also, the weight issue you have raised several times, so I am curious. Are you keeping weight down so it does not collapse or are you keeping it light for a different reason? This will greatly change the answers you get about how to strengthen it.

Are we talking near completion? Or are you still able to put reinforcement inside?

Also, the weight issue you have raised several times, so I am curious. Are you keeping weight down so it does not collapse or are you keeping it light for a different reason? This will greatly change the answers you get about how to strengthen it.
I finished building the man figure. (2 parts, 1 from the waist down to legs, and 1 part from the waist and up arms and head.)