New to making cosplays, looking for advice!

ShameMate

Hello everyone!

I am new to making cosplay's & props and would love some advice from anyone who can support. My goal is to design & make this shirt currently:
0b4b4abb6fd1101390bfb60fb1dc6356.jpg

I was thinking about buying a shirt similar to this maybe from somewhere like Aliexpress, then shaping the "addons" by hand? So would like some advice on the following:
- What material would you recommend for the shirt? Was looking at this one.
- How would you recommend adding the design? Glue, stitching, etc? Any advice on these methods would be great also! From products, to things to watchout for, etc
- What shops do you use to buy cosplay materials from? As I can't find any online for the UK.

Thanks,
Tom

When I start a project like this I try to get as many images as possible to help me on the decisions of the type of fabric and construction details. From the single image I see the fabric should be form-fitting so a knit fabric is appropriate. Additional construction details are a mock turtleneck and short sleeves. The shirt you found seem to meet all those requirements. Undershirts may be too thin but would do well as a starting point to work out your design and techniques. If you want or need something thicker (for a future effort) you might look at knit performance fabric shirts.