Interest Plating-P/C scraped. Possible Anodizing anyone?

Murdoch

Sr Member
Looking to see what type of interest that this may garner. I am looking into possibly starting a plating/powder coating service related to props as an alternative to painting.
I am a plater by trade, have been for 10 yrs now. I also have 10yrs experience in the gold and gem industry. So i thought that this would be an exciting service. One that does'nt seem to be currently available. So please if this is a service that you would be interested in, just let me know. I am trying to gauge how much interest is out there as a way to see weather i should invest in the resources and tools to take this on. I just want to say thank-you for your time...GMurdoch

Last edited:
Re: Plating/Powder coating

I should've been more descriptive. I would be looking at plating metal and non-metal objects...GM

I think you need to give us an idea of what you expect pricing to be based on size and material of item, and people would probably be able to give you an idea of interest.
Having something metal (steel for instance), that is the size of a car bumper professionally triple chrome plated, can be $300-$500 (including descaling, filling, polishing, etc). But plating resin/plastic is a bit different. Many people that buy a plastic helm for $100-$180 probably won't be willing to spend $500 on plating (if that's what it costs, I'm just spitballing here) PLUS shipping back and forth. Especially when you consider that a can of spray paint or a tube of rub-n-buff is $8 at your local hobby store.
I'm not saying that people won't be willing to pay a lot for a mirror chrome or gold look, but there is a whole range of what people can afford and what they are willing to pay. If you gave an idea of an example of: