Robert Burns Method

Brutallurch

Im totally new to SFX and mask making, and Ive made it a point to at least attempt to learn the process, could anyone direct me to where to begin in Latex mask making, I really want to make a Leatherface replica mask, but dont know where to begin learning the method of Robert Burns if anyone could point me in the right direction it would help a ton, thanks so much

The way Burns made the original masks was by taking lifecasts and then building the mask with layers of liquid latex with fiberglass insulation in it. As far as I’m aware the original insulation hasn’t been made in very many years, but something similar is this yellow pipe wrap insulation. You need to take a pair of gloves and very carefully split it off into thin layers. It should be like tissue paper.
CA8A64E8-5F22-4583-9475-FCD1C6B98EE1.jpeg

It’s easier to work into a negative mold (meaning you lifecast someone, clay press it (pour hot clay in to produce a positive sculpture) then make a plaster mold of that clay sculpture (ultracal, hydrocal, pottery plaster) to make your mask in.

You CAN make it over a positive cast (meaning lifecast, then make a direct plaster copy, or buy a premade plaster lifecast from eBay. The only issue is you will lose surface detail and the surface will inevitably end up lumpy. Which is fine depending on how “decayed” you want the mask to be.