Wonderflex and/or Fosshape

Kal-El_NC

Hey all:

Great day to you. I'm trying to create some armor and was wondering what experiences people have had with either Wonderflex and/or Fosshape? I's crafting the shapes out of some foam bedding that is used in camping supplies (you may have seen it as a bed roll in Wal-Mart, it's blue) and was going to cover it with Wonderflex instead of trying to fiberglass it. I have no experience with fiberglass and thought Wonderflex is much more user friendly. When getting ready to order some Wonderflex I noticed on thier site they also sell Fosshape, which sounds similar but it is breathable. So I was wondering what people would suggest.

Thanks for your input.

Kal-El_NC

I use both in the costume shop and I can tell you the difference between the two. Wonderflex is thinner than fosshape and is more like a sheet of plastic. It's a mesh net embedded in plastic. Shapes great and is wonderful for maskmaking. For armor, I would imagine it would need reinforced. It is only about twice as thick as posterboard.

Fosshape is a bit thicker. A little thicker than regular felt. It also looks alot like felt. It is kind of fuzzy. Would also probably require reinforcement and definitely a coating of some sort to cover the fuzz.

Both products are great, and I know people have used the wonderflex for armor before, but I question the quality. One thing that we use alot in theatre for armor that works great is Industrial weight felt, patterned over the shape and then soaked in bullseye shellac.

Darth Mule: Great, thanks for the input. As to reinforcing it, I actually planned on using it to cover some bedroll foam I bought at Wal-Mart (blue and kind of firm but still bends well) that I am making the basic shapes of the armor out of.

One thing that we use alot in theatre for armor that works great is Industrial weight felt, patterned over the shape and then soaked in bullseye shellac.