Advice Needed on Iron Man Electronics, Motorized Faceplate

StormyStorm

Hello everyone. I'm a noob when it comes to electronics and cosplay, so please forgive me if this was obvious.

Basically, I want to create a motorized Iron man helmet which lifts up an down, as seen in the movies. After researching and looking around, I'm just getting more and more confused. I get the jist of it, but I was wondering if there was a simple way to just make it move correctly.

Any advice or direction is appreciated. Luckily, I have access to a 3D printer, so that helps to narrow down options a tad. Thank you for reading!

What you want is made up of four parts:
  • Hinge Mechanism
  • Servo
  • Electronics to tell the servo where to move
  • A way to tell the electronics you want to move the servo
Which parts are you having trouble with? As I recall there's a hinge design on Thingiverse you could print out, have you started there?

What you want is made up of four parts:
  • Hinge Mechanism
  • Servo
  • Electronics to tell the servo where to move
  • A way to tell the electronics you want to move the servo
Which parts are you having trouble with? As I recall there's a hinge design on Thingiverse you could print out, have you started there?

I'm mostly having trouble with figuring out how to rig the electronics, and which electronics would be the best to use. But I'm still a bit confused on the whole mechanism overall.

The one I'm most interested in is this: Servo Hinge for Iron Man Helmet by ByteSlinger. But I'm not sure how it works. Thank you for your reply.

Well, he mentions what kind of servo to use, and he also recommends the Arduino Nano for controlling it, which I think is one of your best options.

(Possibly over explaining here... It's what I do...)