Batarangs?

Bizarro Lois

Sr Member
Let me just say how blown away I am by some of the projects I've seen on this forum. My experience is mostly in costuming my own stuff for conventions and Halloween, and custom action figures. So I've been inspired to try my first actual prop - a comic-style batarang and maybe some of the small ones like my DC Direct 13" Batman holds between his knuckles. I'm sure I can handle the sculpting and I have some experience making molds and casting. I used the search feature and have found several great batarangs made from resin or metal, as seen in the movies. I was just wondering if anyone can recommend any other materials to try making it with? If I use resin, is there something I should use on the inside to bulk it up and make it sturdier? I have a few other things to work on before my work table is clear enough to start working on this, so there's time for research. Any help would be appreciated.

Another question about the mold. I don't think I've ever sculpted anything that has no "bottom," like a flat surface that sits on the table and doesn't need to be shaped. I'm assuming I'll need to do a two-part mold. Will I need to sculpt and cast the batarang halves separately and then attach them/recast as one? That seems like a lot of waste. Is there a better way to do this? Maybe sculpt one side, cover it in silicone or other molding material, then flip it and sculpt the other side. I think I could then make the corresponding side of the mold. Any tips on how to handle this effectively?

If the batarang has no relief features or anything, it could be flat and then you'd only need one side of a mould that you filled with resin.