Iron Man Mark X-1 (Custom Design) WIP (Maya Progress images 1/9!)

DavetheHamster

Hello RPF! Allow me to introduce myself. I'm Jon, or Dave the Hamster, and I've been browsing the site for about 6 months now, marveling at what has been accomplished by so many of you. The work showcased here is truly inspiring. So much so, that after years of wanting to try a hand at making some armor, I feel I now may have the ability to create a set of my own. After seeing Iron Man 2 in theaters, and a random Google search that showed a piece of TMP armor, I went ahead with some designs for my own movie inspired armor, the X-1. I'm going with an original design for many reasons, the main one being that I don't want to be confined to trying to create a suit that is movie acurate. The X-1 is definately inspired by the movies. I consider it to be what may come down the line, but most is most closely inspired by the Mark IV, my favorite from the films.

Currently, I have the X-1 Arc built, though I'm going to be doing more work with the light, and am working in Maya 7 to create a 3D model of the suit which will be used for the Pepakura. I've completely designed the suit on paper, so it's just a matter of making that into 3D. I'll be posting updates regulary (hopefully), so check back often. I hope to have this done by next July, or Halloween at the latest.

Contructive critiques are always welcome! Thanks in advance.

Thanks for viewing, and I look forward to the build!

Last edited:
Re: Iron Man Mark X-1 (Custom Design) WIP

I'm planning on taking some new images of the Arc, minus the lights because they are so horrible, as well as scanning in my drawings by this weekend. They should be up by Saturday for all to see!

Hit me up if you need an unfolder :) I've done a lot of iron man unfolds

Would that be an unfold in Pepakura, or Maya? I can do the unfold in Maya, but I haven't anything in Pepakura yet and I only have the freeware version right now.