Animatronic Sideshow Grogu

Jesuit24

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I've had my Sideshow Grogu for a while now. I originally made him poseable with a metal wire and biscuit foam, but the wire was always a bit too stiff and bounced back quite a lot. I'd been meaning to swap it out for the tripod limbs but since seeing the Grogu at Galaxy's Edge, I thought I'd take it a step further.

I kept the feet as metal wire, given how sunk in to the foam and resin, removing them was going to be nigh on impossible. But I replaced the arms with the tripod limbs, giving me a lot more range of movement than I had before. I also wired up a servo controller to two 35kg servos on a pan and tilt kit, powered by a 5V USB power bank.

The pan/tilt kit came with two HiTec 422 servos which were far too underpowered at 4kg. I originally swapped them out for HiTec 645 servos at 9kg but even they weren't enough. Eventually I bought the 35kg servos which may or may not have been overkill. This is my first time using servos so I didn't know how to calculate the required torque.

20230401_192709.jpg

I completely gutted the head of expanding foam in a bid to cut the weight of the head down and give the servos a better chance (fun fact, the eyes are only half spheres presumably attached from the outside, which I wasn't expecting). I did the same for the body, taking out most of the biscuit foam I'd put in a year ago with my first attempt at pose-ability. This definitely gave me more work than I needed, but at least I could sand out a flat base for the servos to sit on once I had taken enough out for the neck to sit flush. I also had to trim a lot of the collar on the body away to get a decent range of motion with the servos.

20230401_192733.jpg

I 3D printed a collar for the head and the servo base, so no gluing was required, I just screwed the neck collar directly into the mounting holes on the pan/tilt mount and screwed down into the body for the servo housing.

20230401_192641.jpg